Turns out drinking can be quite nice if you do it with a touch of sophistication.  There is quite something to be said for a good knowledge of wine.  Denver is a good place to acquire this, I have come to learn.  I mean to approach this new hobby with some zeal.  Half-priced bottle of wine nights and wine tastings abound all over the city, and I just might be a fledgling Sommelier.  Right.  If I could only learn how to pronounce half the wines I drink, I’d be on my way.

Red wine, drunk in a habitual manner makes me think of Ernest Hemingway and American ex-patriots in Europe.  What a fantastic life.  So many grand ideas I have for adventures.  So many things I would do if I only had the means.  Instead I find myself 25 years old (young?) abd very aware of what feels romantic and vivacious and true (travel and passion and wine and beauty and feelings and emotion and nobility), but forced to toil away at the 9 to 5 and struggle for the occasional nice piece of cheese in the endless rat race that is our inheritence as members of the middle class in a Capitalist society.  How frustrating. 

Sometimes the ridiculous thought crosses my mind that if I could perhaps find a man of extended monetary means I could be free to live as I please, instead of always being the primary bread winner.  It attracts, but at the same time feels a counterfeit.  That woman is not me.  There was actually an article I read once about young women who travel to Moscow with the sole purpose of finding a millionaire husband (there are more millionaires per capita in Moscow than in any other place on the globe).  I am the woman who marries for love and little else.  I fall in love deeply and madly and his face, his touch ignites something in me that would be a great tragedy to sacrifice.  What good is a life with money, without a life of passion? 

So, I carry on.  Paddling against the current and becoming evermore faithful to forces beyond the stars, beyond vision, beyond quandry, but that lie purely in one’s higher senses.  I feel and I believe that I am a powerful and special being and that my journey has only just begun.

