“Many times I’ve often prayed, in the darkness of my night, in the brightness of my day…”

Day 5 – 2/20/11

16th Street Mall was like a wind tunnel today.  The sky was electric blue.  A handsome, young canvassar saw me blowing random notes into my harmonica, and said “Hey!  Do you play the harmonica?” “No, I said, this is a charm-onica.  The difference is the charmonica doesn’t require any skill to play it.” 

Adele – “Rolling in the Deep”

I really like Adele.  She’s coming to Denver soon, and I think I will go see her.    This song really speaks to me these days.  So did this graffiti in an alley off of Colfax.

This is me in the basement of Hooked on Colfax.  It’s full of big, old leather couches, enormous mirrors, big heavy wooden coffee tables, red lights on string, and flickering candles.  I like to go down in these catacombs and drink tea, eat a pastry, read, write, pass the time.

Remember this good, old song?  Hey now, hey now…it sounds like, “How Do You Talk to an Angel?” by the Heights in the first couple of notes.  Sheesh, remember that song?  Broke my heart when I was about 8 years old.

These are the new shoes that will take me everywhere.  “I’m counting the steps to the door of your heart…”

Kita has the right idea on a blustery day.

I began writing a personal statement for my graduate school application for couples and family counseling, and it’s hard work. I said to myself, “Even if it’s total shit, just get something down, just start it. ”  There was a line comparing human love relationships to that between two Emperor Penguins who mate for life.  Unless one of them dies, they return to the other, year after year after year.  The mating season is during the frigid Antartic winter, and once the female lays her egg, the male immediately incubates it.  He fasts the entire winter, and the egg is his sole responsibility.  The female goes to sea to feed, returning in the spring to relieve the male of his duty and tend to the newborn chick. 

Tomorrow is the first night of Political Tea.  I’ll let you know how it goes.  I told Josh to think of it as a symposium for not just politics, but all manner of subjects.  Conspiracy Tea.  Fantastical Tea.  Artistic Tea. Whatever you prefer, really.  But, I just like to call it Political Tea.  It makes me laugh.  Not to be confused or affiliated with the Tea Party of recent notoriety.

